Conversations with Bach


June 6, 2020

Concert starts

8:00 pm


Wellhayes Vineyard

Johann Sebastian Bach ‘cello suites in G and Eb and the Violin Sonatas and Partitas in G minor and D Minor are performed by Krysia Osostowicz (violin) and David Waterman (cello) with Eva Hoffman and George Szirtes (authors/readers)

Johann Sebastian Bach wrote his D minor Chaconne for solo violin in 1720 – an iconic work, like a cathedral in sound – while in that same year, in Venice, the great luthier Francesco Gofriller was making the beautiful violin currently owned by violinist Krysia Osostowicz.

To celebrate this double 300th anniversary, we are delighted that the outstanding violinist Krysia Osostowicz (leader of the Dante Quartet) and ‘cellist David Waterman (Endellion Quartet) have agreed to share with us a programme they have developed, together with celebrated writers Eva Hoffman and George Szirtes, in which their favourite movements from Bach’s violin and cello suites – including the great Chaconne – are coupled with new poems and prose.

*****Please Note Start Time*****This exceptional programme will last 75 minutes and will be performed without a break.

Recent Press Quotes:

Krysia Osostowicz gives performances of flawless integrity and insight – BBC Music Magazine

Hoffman, whose early training was as a pianist, writes about music and musicianship with poetry and precision, wit and melancholy – New York Times

major contribution to post-war literature, Szirtes weaves his personal and historical themes into work of profound psychological complexity – Poetry Review


Return to concert listing